Three everyday uses for mind maps

As I began to write an outline of her project, my usually reserved client let out a desperate groan. She was experiencing feelings of being overwhelmed and “beaten up” by the things she had to do, and the outline looked like a big weapon. I  avoid making my clients miserable, so I whisked the paper away and asked, “Are you interested in trying something new?” She was.

Mind-maps make introductions easy

Mind-maps make introductions easy

I picked up a fistful of colored markers and, using a big sheet of flip-chart paper, wrote a few words naming her project in the center of the sheet and drew an oval around them. Radiating from the central theme, we began to add various concerns, sub-projects, thoughts, and questions. The “something new” that I introduced was mind-mapping, a technique to organize information in a non-linear way.

Use mind-mapping whenever you want to gather information, ideas, and questions; sort out connections that may not be apparent, or present information in a more holistic format than is possible with lists or outlines.

Here are three uses for mind-mapping:

1. Designing a class, speech, or book. Put the topic or title in the center of the page, then add themes you want to address related to that topic.

2. Introducing someone publicly. Put the person’s name in the center of the page, then surround it with all the areas you want to cover: work history, awards and accolades, contributions to the industry, philanthropic interests, and so on. It’s amazing how much information a one-page mind-map will hold, allowing you as the presenter to speak from compact notes without reading text. The speaker will bless you for it.

3. Planning a project such as a move or renovation. Into the center of the page goes the goal. Surrounding it are the broad categories of action needed to make it a reality. Radiating from those categories will be discrete tasks.

If you’re struggling to get your arms around a project,  create a mind-map first. You’ll be off and running.

What will you do with a mind-map? Leave a comment here.

4 comments so far

  1. Emily on

    Margaret, I have a class to plan for this weekend and this idea is exactly what I needed to see. I used it all the time when teaching middle school but it did not occur to me as I was sitting in front of my blank paper with a pile of resource book looming in the background. What I love about mapping is that no idea is bad; just write it all down and you will find what is useful. Thank you!

  2. Janet Barclay on

    I attended a workshop this year where the facilitator demonstrated the use of mind maps in developing Standard Operating Procedures (see http://www.janetbarclay.com/2009/07/01/developing-standard-operating-procedures). Although I find it easier to work with an outline, I did find the visual layout very helpful in understanding the process.

  3. Bola Odulate on

    Yay mind-maps! I use them for business plans, marketing plans, problem solving, goals for the year and creating posts for realitynibs.com.

    I’m also planning to install mind-mapping software on my iPhone.

  4. […] Lukens describes Three everyday uses for mind-maps, and Jacki Hollywood Brown blogs about The King of Classification: This Professional Organizer […]


Leave a Reply

